Lesson 2 of5
In Progress

Outline of Amos

1. Introduction (Amos 1:1-2)

An editor titles the book as “the words of Amos” and gives some historical and biographical information regarding Amos. The editor has placed a brief message from Amos in v. 2 as a summary of Amos’s preaching: “The Lord roars from Zion, and utters his voice from Jerusalem.”

2. Judgment against Foreign Nations…and Israel (Amos 1:3-2:16)

A series of seven messages announces God’s judgment on foreign nations and on Israel. The order of messages is important. The first five nations that are condemned are the nations surrounding Israel and Judah: Aram, Gaza, Tyre, Ammon, and Moab. The sixth nation mentioned is Judah, Israel’s rival nation to the south. After Israel is encircled in this “noose” of judgment, the seventh message announces judgment on Israel.

3. Judgment against Israel (Amos 3:1-6:14)

A series of prophetic messages announces judgment on Israel. An editor has again placed a brief message first to serve as an introduction to this section: “Hear this word that the Lord has spoken against you, O people of Israel, against the whole family that I brought up out of the land of Egypt: You only have I known of all the families of the earth; therefore I will punish you for all your iniquities” (3:1-2).

4. Five Prophetic Visions of Judgment (Amos 7:1-9:10)

This is a series of five prophetic visions of judgment against Israel. The first four visions begin, “This is what the Lord God showed me.” The last begins, “I saw.…” This section also includes one narrative account about Amos and his encounter with Amaziah, the priest of Bethel (7:10-17). In addition, this section contains a few miscellaneous fragments of messages (7:5-10).

5. A Promise of Restoration (Amos 9:11-15)

This closing section announces that God will remain faithful to the promise to David and will rebuild the house of David.